FO : Koolhaas Hat

Yes, I am on a knitting roll…

Koolhaas Hat in Karabella Aurora 8 - Rust

Pattern : Koolhaas Hat by Jared Flood
Needles : KnitPicks Options US 5 (3.75 mm) & US 7 (4.5 mm)
Yarn : 2 balls of Karabella Aurora 8
Color : Rust (16)
Size : Large (men’s)
Modifications : None, I followed the pattern exactly.
Notes : I started with size 6/8 needles and it was a little bit larger than the recommended gauge. I went down a size to 5 & 7 since I read that this yarn expands after washing. I used the Magic Loop with my KnitPicks Options and this pattern went fast. It looks complicated, but really it isn’t. If you can ktbl and do basic cables, you can make this hat.

Here is a close-up of the stitch detail:

Close up of Koolhaas Hat in Karabella Aurora 8 - Rust

I picked this color to match the Opera Scarf I just finished. I made the small size (women’s) and when I tried it on, it was about an inch above my ears. I like my hats to cover my ears. I ripped back a few rows and added another pattern repeat (5 in total). I want to make another one of these hats, but I have a few more projects I’d like to tackle before doing this again.

7 Comments

  1. JessaLu said,

    January 28, 2008 at 12:12 AM

    Love the hat!

  2. Alyssa said,

    January 28, 2008 at 12:02 PM

    Ooh, I like that hat a lot. Great color and pattern…off to add it to the every growing queue. 🙂

  3. Alyssa said,

    January 28, 2008 at 12:07 PM

    And the pattern should be JavaKoolhaas, right? 😉

  4. April said,

    January 28, 2008 at 8:14 PM

    That is one of my favorites. I haven’t knit it yet, but will eventually.

  5. lynette said,

    January 30, 2008 at 3:05 PM

    your hat looks awesome. i love the up-close stitch pattern. so polished.

  6. Tamara said,

    February 28, 2008 at 7:45 AM

    I LOVE that hat so much! You look so doggone cute in it. It is gorgeous.

  7. March 29, 2008 at 12:35 AM

    Love that hat! Been thinking about making one myself. Yours came out great!


Leave a comment